fbpx The University of Gdańsk in an elite group of 17 international consortiums - winners of the European Commission's "European Universities" competition. | University of Gdańsk | Uniwersytet Gdański

The University of Gdańsk in an elite group of 17 international consortiums - winners of the European Commission's "European Universities" competition.

The University of Gdansk is among 17 consortiums of European universities selected in the European Commission's "European Universities" competition under the Erasmus+ Programme.  The total budget of the programme is €85 million and each consortium will receive up to €5 million over the next 3 years. The grant is intended for the development of cooperation in the field of education, research and academic exchange. Most importantly, however, this status opens up completely new opportunities for our university to apply for funding for its academic activities. European universities with the University of Gdansk in this elite group will revolutionise European higher education in terms of quality and competitiveness.

The University of Gdansk has formed a consortium of the European University of the Seas (SEA-EU) with the following partners: University of Cadiz (Spain), University of Split (Croatia), University of Western Brittany (France), Christian-Albrecht University of Kiel (Germany) and University of Malta (Malta).

Within the framework of the received grant and other obtained funds, it will be possible to establish joint fields of study, exchange academic staff and students, joint research projects and in the future also a joint diploma of all six universities.

European Universities is an international programme of the European Commission that encourages the building of alliances of European universities.  European universities are going to be transnational alliances of higher education institutions from across the EU with a common long-term strategy, promoting European values and identities. As a result, they will contribute to the competitiveness of European higher education, student and staff mobility, excellence in education and research, and inclusiveness. Among the five Polish winning universities that make up the international network of European universities, apart from the University of Gdansk, were the Adam Mickiewicz University of Poznań, the University of Opole, the Jagiellonian University in Kraków and the University of Warsaw.

- The selection of the University of Gdańsk by the European Commission to the elite group of the first European Universities is a great honour. The University will implement a completely new model of education and academic exchange with partner universities within the framework of the received funds - emphasizes Prof. Piotr Stepnowski, Vice-Rector for Research and Foreign Cooperation at the University of Gdańsk.

- The maritime sector is of strategic importance for the economies of the six maritime regions our partners come from. It is one of the main objectives of education and research conducted by universities forming the SEA-EU consortium. At all of the SEA-EU universities, including the University of Gdańsk, we educate students in many fields of study related to maritime disciplines, many research groups work on issues related to the sea, and the business community is developing dynamically in the sector of production and services dedicated to maritime economy - explains Prof. Krzysztof Bielawski, Vice-Rector for Development and Cooperation with Business and Industry of the University of Gdańsk.

The universities forming SEA-EU have committed themselves to implementing this project in cooperation with associated partners. In the case of the University of Gdansk, they are the Institute of Oceanology of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Sopot, the Maritime Institute in Gdańsk and the Erasmus Student Network UG Association), key public research agencies, national and regional administrations and companies engaged in research and business activities related to the seas and oceans adjacent to our territories.

At the University of Gdańsk, the team involved in the preparation of the project includes prof. dr hab. Piotr Stepnowski, prof. dr hab. Krzysztof Bielawski, mgr Ewa Weronis, mgr Kamila Chomicz-Sokołowska and mgr Marlena Rutkowska-Myzyk.


Last modified by: Andrzej Żurawik
Created by: Andrzej Żurawik
Last modified: 
2019, June 28 - 7:56am